Reviews:

HostelWorld

Overall rating: 96%
'I really liked the nice atmosphere'
'It was very well run and it showed that the staff cared and took pride in maintaining the quality of their hostel experience' 

HostelBookers

Overall rating: 96.7%
'Probably the best place we stayed at in Latin America'
'By far the best showers, kitchen, beds and TV room we have seen' 

(Booking through booking machines cost you money. The 'deposit' is in fact their commission, it's money the hostel will never receive. So it's always cheaper to book directly with us. Also, the availability of beds they show doesn't necessarily represent the actual availability)

Tripadvisor 

Up until July 2014 Tralala has received 152 reviews, 109 of them rated Tralala as 'Excellent', and 30 as "Very good". 

(Please use Tripadvisor wisely. As anybody can write whatever, it's an instrument where owners, clients, competitors and Tripadvisor itself all try to manipulate the results for their own benefit)

 

Guidebooks: 

Lonely Planet Colombia 
'In a brightly renovated colonial house only half a block from the town’s central park, this small, well-run hostel was clearly created by someone who knows exactly what travellers want. It has all the facilities you could possibly need, including comfortable mattresses, piping-hot showers, two kitchens, a fully stocked DVD library and lightning-fast wi-fi, all set around a lush garden with a peaceful elevated terrace.'

Rough Guide South America
'The friendly Dutch owner has worked hard to convert this traditional Paisa-style house into a beautiful, modern hostel. The spotless rooms and smart bathrooms retain original features, like the wooden floors with furnishings made by local artisans. Socialize on the sun terrace or if you fancy some time on your own, grab a hammock. You’re guaranteed a great night’s sleep in a comfortable bed here.' 

Bradt Travel Guide Colombia 
'Another fairly new addition to the backpacker trail, Tralala is the perfect option for a relaxed, comfortable good-value hostel. Catering for a maximum of 21 people, there's an intimate, calm feel to the place, and with 2 kitchens queues for cooking are out of the question. You can also hire rubber boots here for 3000 cop, and there's a handy laundry service (15.000 COP per load). Dorm rooms and 5 double rooms available.'

Kolumbien Reisekompass (German Guidebook)
One block from the town square. The Dutch owner has painted the shutters in a bright orange and maintained the traditional local style with wooden planks and high ceilings. Clean, good matresses, hot showers, green courtyard with hammocks and an inside balcony.' 

Footprint Colombia
'Recommended' 

 

Recommended hostels:

Bogota

Alegrias: www.alegriashostel.com

The CrankyCroc: www.crankycroc.com

Sue: www.suecandelaria.com

Casa Platypus: www.casaplatypus.com

 

Medellin

Buddha Hostel:  www.buddhahostel.com

The Black Sheep: www.blacksheepmedellin.com

Casa Kiwi: www.casakiwi.net

The Wandering Paisa: www.wanderingpaisahostel.com

 

Cali

Ruta Sur: www.hostalrutasurcali.blogspot.com

Tostaky: www.cafetostaky.blogspot.com

Iguana: www.iguana.com.co

El Viajero: www.elviajerohostels.com

 

Cartagena

El Viajero: www.hostelcartagena.com

Media Luna: www.medialunahostel.com

Real: www.hostalreal.com

 

Santa Marta

La Brisa Loca: www.labrisaloca.com

Aluna: www.alunahotel.com

The Dreamer: www.thedreamerhostel.com

 

Taganga

La Casa de Felipe: www.lacasadefelipe.com

La Tortuga: www.tortugahostel.com

 

Mendihuaca (7km from Tayrona)

Costeño Beach: www.costenosurf.com

 

Minca

Casa Loma: www.casalomaminca.blogspot.com

 

Palomino

The Dreamer: www.thedreamerhostel.com

 

Valledupar

Provincia hostel: www.provinciavalledupar.com

 

Bucaramanga

Kasa Guane: www.kasaguane.com

 

Villa de Leyva

Colombian Highlands: www.colombianhighlands.com

 

Sogomoso

Finca San Pedro: www.fincasanpedro.com

 

Guatapé

Hostel El Encuentro: www.hostalelencuentro.com

 

Bahia Solano

The Humpback Turtle: www.humpbackturtle.com

 

Manizales

Mountain Hostels: www.mountainhostels.com.co

Hacienda Venecia: www.haciendavenecia.com

 

Pereira:

Kolibri: www.kolibrihostel.com

 

Armenia

Casa Quimbaya: www.casaquimbaya.com

 

Popayan

HostelTrail: www.hosteltrail.com

ParkLife: www.parklifehostel.com

 

Mocoa

Casa Del Rio: www.casadelriomocoa.com

 

San Agustin

La Casa de Francois: www.lacasadefrancois.com